Neil Mapes Swim Statement

How to write your swim statement for your next race or coaching course

Neil Mapes
3 min readAug 21, 2023
Neil Mapes the author in a bright orange swim coach t shrt
Neil Mapes Swim Coach. Image credit Neil Mapes August 2023

If you are looking for a swim coach or to enter an adventure swim or race then chances are you will have been asked to supply a ‘Swim statement’.

I had to write one recently for my open water swimming coaching qualification. If you need to write your swim statement please feel free to adopt and adapt the following if you find the structure helpful.

Neil Mapes Swim Statement

I started open-water swimming in 2009 and have swum regularly since then in all kinds of open-water environments. I have completed various swimming events from 1M (Great East Swim) to 10K (Loch Morlich 10K with Go Swim 2021) and as part of 12 triathlon events including a 70.3 half Ironman.

I log my swims on Strava here, please follow me on Strava if you are a user. https://www.strava.com/athletes/32459820.

Since moving to Nairn in 2019 I have swum year round in the sea with the Nairn Selkies group. I have recently joined the Nairn Amateur Swimming Club as a volunteer coach and swim with the Inverness Masters swim club.

I have written a variety of swimming articles about safe sea swimming which are all available as a handy download here…

--

--

Neil Mapes

Outdoor swimming coach, trail runner and dinghy sailor. Loving life in the Highlands of Scotland.